Students in university should be specialized in one subject rather than to develop a wider range of knowledge in many different subjects. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people may hold the opinion that college students are better trained in a particular subject instead of mastering various disciplines with exclusive knowledge. I’m strongly against this view. First and foremost, mono-knowledge is not applicable in the real world. In the workplace, the employer appreciates people with multi-knowledge in several areas. For instance, the requirements for recruiting a teaching assistant in a institution are diverse, including teaching skills, efficiency of administrative work, communication skills, and even managing abilities. In an elementary school, the professors are multi-skills as well. An English teacher should also have certain knowledge of Chinese since languages are highly connected with each other. A specialist in chemicals may also participate in the training of mathematics. Besides, the master of multiple knowledge in versatile subjects is favourable for our growth and development. In this day and age, we are facing new challenges and opportunities. Single-subject learning is outdated to some degree, for the majority of us may not focus on a single area for the rest of our lives. For example, a large number of teachers altered their career path to overseas sales and Youtubers in the past few years because of the policy and limitations announced by the government. Furthermore, when it comes to a new environment, a wider range of skills enable us to live better in the future. All in all, focusing on a preferred and compulsory subject is crucial, but all-round learning should not be neglected in any case.