In many countries around the world, rural people are moving to cities, so the population in the countryside is decreasing. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

In many countries, the population of the countryside has been decreasing because rural residents leave for cities. I believe this is a negative development because it affects businesses and the education of students in rural areas. The reducing number for population of the countryside could bring challenges to local businesses because the revenue of local stores would relatively decrease. For example, more and more supermarkets in the rural area of Malaysia are closed down because of the lack of local consumers, which causes hardship for the remaining residents to maintain their necessities. As a result, the local businesses could meet the challenges of the declining trend of rural residents. Further, students of the rural area might also face the issue of education, since the fact that the poor number of students might cause a poor quality of education. For instance, some of the rural schools in Taiwan have only a few teachers, which means those local students would find it harder to receive a wide range of options than urban students for fostering their interests and skills. As a consequence, the declining population is harmful to the education of local students. In conclusion, I believe the decreasing population of the countryside is a negative development as it causes challenges for local businesses and rural student’s education. People should put effort into this issue to ensure rural residents’ lives.