Some people think that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workplace. Others think that the true function of a university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of whether the course is useful to an employer. What, in your opinion, should be the main function of a university?

One of the widely discussed issues is that some people believe that universities should graduate students with all the knowledge they need for the future workplace, however, there is an alternative opinion of those who instead have a notion that knowledge should be taught for its own sake. This is undoubtedly that a university degree is an essential part of people's lives, nevertheless, everyone wants to contribute their labour properly to have truly meaningful outcome in their life, not just a diploma that they can show to their future boss, who will presumably choose someone with a background of experience in a real workforce, rather than a student. In my country there is a widespread belief that young people should apply to university in order to have the diploma of high education, even though many graduaters graduate will not proceed working in the field they had acquired knowledge. Moreover, the statistics bear this out: around 60% of people don't work in the profession they studied. The main reason for this phenomenon is that most of alumni are not ready to decide what they really want to be in their future life and the practice even in the imitated working environment could help them to decide whether they have chosen the profession they are really interested in. On the other hand, the higher education system is designed to expose students to large parts of the world. For example, the students are taught with some basis of psychology, management, sociology and others, so the whole aim of the university is to diversify the cognition and creativity of the learner. In conclusion, I think all universities should include less theory and more practice to help students in their future careers.