AI based systems as a solution to more sustainable energy supply

Human civilization heavily relies on the existence of energy. For instance, it powers airplanes to transport people and goods thousands of miles away in less than a day, allowing us to trade goods and even to rekindle with our loved ones. However, escalating energy consumption has resulted in climate change issues that could impact humanity and threaten future generations. Several preventive and corrective actions have been taken, such as the use of Artificial Intelligence technology, or AI in short, to preserve energy supply and manage its consumption. This essay will explore what AI is and the example of its global implementation in the context of energy supply conservation. Data center is a facility with computing infrastructure, storage, and backup power (Hogan, 2022). It is designed to ensure the continuous operation of computer systems and the stored data. In 2022, data center contributed 1-1.3% of global electricity use, which was estimated around 240-340 TWh (Rozite et al., 2023). This figure is predicted to keep rising, until 1.86% in 2030 (Koot & Wijnhoven, 2021). Google, as one of technology giants in the 21st century which started as a search engine, has evolved their business with diverse products and services. The growing line of business has led them to expand their data center facilities. As of 2023, they have been owning 24 data centers spread across the world while innovating to make significant improvements towards their efficiency. The company started implementing a neural network in 2014, trained to mimic cognitive behavior via interactions between artificial neurons. The neural network would search for patterns and interactions between features to automatically generate a best-fit model (Gao, 2014). Until in 2016, the company introduced DeepMind AI which aimed to improve the previous system’s utility. As per report by Google, the company has managed to reduce the amount of energy used for cooling by up to 40 percent after the implementation of machine learning. The company collects historical data from thousands of sensors within the data centers and uses it to train an ensemble of deep neural networks (Gao, 2014). It explains that the research of comparing predicted vs actual PUE has a mean absolute of 0.004 and standard deviation of 0.005. The mean absolute measures the average absolute differences between observed and predicted values in a dataset, where the closest a score is to 0, indicates higher accuracy of the prediction model (Jierula et al., 2021). Meanwhile, the standard deviation indicates how dispersed the values in a data set are from the average value, where the closest a score is to 0, suggests that the data points are less variative and close to the average (Barde & Barde, 2012). Based on the data, it is proven that the implementation of machine learning in Google data center is not only benefit the environment, but also have a high accuracy in predicting the usage trends. In conclusion, the implementation of AI-based systems in various sectors has proven to successfully revolutionize energy preservation and contribute to a more sustainable energy supply. Extensive training of the data set will be needed to produce a more humane model, and it will not occur in a short period. We can certainly continue harnessing the power of AI, while hand in hand focusing on the goal of reducing carbon emissions.