In education and employment, some people work harder than others. Why do some people work harder than others? Is it always a good thing to work hard?

It cannot be denied that spending more time and effort on our work and study could usually yield more results, and such a fact leads some to generate the opinion that working harder than others is the very principle of life. However, such an idea needs to be scrutinized meticulously before a conclusion can be reached. First and foremost, it is a fact that due to the accelerating pace of life caused by the growth of economy, many tend to work harder than others. More goods and services are now available to us, combined with the effect of advertising, it is a natural tendency for people to desire what they do not have, resulting in an increasing number of diligent students and workers who aim to enjoy these products, tangible or intangible; furthermore, the growth of economy in recent centuries has also conglomerated societal wealth into the hands of a few, further burdening the ordinary working class who do not have power. Second, the fact that technology has allowed the fast spread of information indicates that people work harder as they see more “role models.” Take the case of the successful stories of entrepreneurs that we almost hear about every day on social media via mobile devices: while they are indeed a tiny portion of the population, the high frequency in which we hear about the stories leaves us the impression that such is the norm for every individual. Had it not been for such development in the society, we would never have formed such a value. Although some might claim that working hard is a virtue, such philosophy in fact might compromise multiple aspects of our life and the society. For us, extended working or study hours could lead to a lack of physical exercise and communication with our family and beloved ones, damaging our physical and mental health and then forming a vicious cycle in the efficiency of our work and study; on the other hand, a society with a heavy focus on “working hard,” namely material wealth, will produce an atmosphere with an animosity between people as they view everyone else a competitor, losing the capacity of humanity in the culture of the city, eventually forcing its citizens out due to excessive pressure and mental suffering. In conclusion, always working harder is a belief that carrys carry risk to both individuals and the society. While one sees a zero and another sees a circle, I am confident that my opponents will compromise after being shown to my article.