Some people think all university student should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There is a debate between people who believe that all university students should be allowed to study any major or minor they want to, while the controversial group considers that they should study only those subjects that will find a practical use in the future. It is obvious that every person has their own path and career and they have all rights to choose any field they want to research. However, if more students choose an irrelevant subject, they will have less experience and knowledge in their professional work. Personally, I tend to think that students are free to choose subjects in the educational establishements establishment. A commonly held belief is that most students do not know what exactly they want to study and which career to choose. Thus, by trying more subjects they can understand what is more suitable for them to continue learning. As evidence 65% of graduates in the US do not work by their speciality and 70% are unsatisfied with their professions. This illustrates how important is a free choice of subjects in the universities. On the other hand, some people claim that extracurricular subjects can shorten study hours of majors and distract students from learning first priority subjects. For example, unnecessary subjects such as psychology and philosophy for science students are just a waste of study hours. Therefore, many students do not have enough time to practice their majors. In conclusion, taking everything mentioned into account I would argue that the subjects should be allowed to be chosen freely despite the fact of academic influences or the quality of professional knowledge.