More and more people today expect to get what they want instantly ( goods, services, news), without having to wait. Why is this? Do you think these expectations to get things instantly is a positive or negative development?

It is often argued that people always expect to have instant access to anything they need because they do not have patience to wait for things to happen. It might be due to the technological advancements which has reduced the need of delayed gratifications. In my opinion, it has more a negative development than positive considering the behavioural and health problems. This is mainly because of the advancements in technology plays a crucial role. That is to say that people have choices to select the speed of services they need whether it is related to products or information or services. For instance, Amazon has a service called Amazon prime which delivers goods on the same day within a few hours. Such developments reduced the need to wait for anything. I believe that such expectations of instant access has potential pitfalls than benefits. Firstly, such attitude makes them impatient when they do not have something they expected which could lead to negative impacts in terms of their health such as anxiety and depression. Secondly, it might cause behavioural issues such as being arrogance or stubborn to get things immediatel and they don't embrace gratifications that are delayed. In conclusion, aiming to get what they want is mainly due to the number of choices we have in this competitive world because of the improvements in technology. Although it has benefits, I believe that demerits outweigh the positives because it has negative impacts on behaviour and health