Some people think that keeping pets is good for children while others think it is dangerous and unhealthy. Which opinion do you agree with? Discuss both options and give examples.

Nowadays every home has at least one pet. It argues that having pets at home is beneficial for kids. While others think that, it is harmful and not a healthy option. I agree that keeping pets is unhealthy and it causes many problems to kids. This essay will discuss both these views and explain my opinions in the ensuing paragraphs. On the one hand, there have been various problems arising due to having a pet at home. It may cause different health issues in kids. Firstly, the hairs and dust of animals leads to allergy problem. The bird dust or hairs of cats and dogs fly in the atmosphere and anyone who inhales those can have an allergy. For example, a study conducted in a local village shows that kids who are allergic to some kind of dust have a pet in their homes. Secondly, the waste of an animal is dangerous and if anyone consumes it will lead to serious illness. Infants and toddlers do not understand the difference between good and bad products. They may touch wastes of animals if they see anything on the ground. There are chances of pets waste the ground. As a result, children may get ill. On the other hand, having pets at home has some advantages too. Kids get attached to them and they protect kids from strangers, especially dogs who do this job very well. Moreover, from childhood onwards kids understand the value of relationships if they have animals at home. For instance, according to the Northern University of The Pas, people who have domestic animals at home are very friendly and they value their relationship with other individuals. To sum up, keeping a pet is good for people as it helps to understand the bond between people. However, the consequences that it causes are higher than the benefits. Hence, in my perspective, it is better to say no to animals until kids are grown to know the difference between what is good and bad.