Children are becoming overweight and unhealthy. Some people think that the government should have the responsibility. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the fast-paced society currently, individuals are often struggling with their daily work and study life, and the concept of healthy lifestyle has been lost gradually from individuals’ mind. Children are not exceptions, an increasing number of diabetes among children indicates the severity of the general health issue. Arguments appear on whether government should take responsibility for the overweight issue of children. Personally, I, partly agree with this viewpoint. It is undeniable that government can establish several policies to alleviate this issue. Children haven’t developed a critical and mature mindset yet, so they would be misled by some exaggerated advertisement. For example, advertisements for fried foods assert that their foods have less energy which is usually not reliable. Nevertheless, kids do not have enough experience or knowledge to help them come out with a correct judgement. In this case, government can formulate policies to restrict publishments and advertisements that are not credible. In addition, with globalization, individuals can get in touch with diverse cuisines or diets from all over the world, including fast food in KFC or McDonald's that are always considered as junk food because of their lack of nutrition and high energy. Hence, government can set a higher tax for those so-called junk food companies and allow some subsidy for healthy food such as vegetables and fruits to encourage children to develop a balanced diet. However, this does not automatically mean that only efforts by government can deal with the problem. In order to holistically solve this problem, actions from schools and families should also be taken into account. Students especially high school students have to handle a very high pressure of study and a heavy curriculum because they have to improve their grades to meet the universities’ criteria. Involving physical education scores would be vital to reverse this trend, encouraging students to have more exercise. At the same time, the dangers of junk food can be imparted from schools and parents to their kids, after children have a clear recognition, they establish an insightful mindset to identify which kind of food would be healthy to consume. In conclusion, the government is indeed an essential part, however, factors inside and outside the school should also be taken into account to comprehensively settle a matter to the overweight issue among children.