Nowadays, plastic money replacements such as credit and debit cards are extremely popular, even more than banknotes and coin. Advantages and Disadvantages

It is believed that the digital money is more famous than the physical money such as coins and banknotes. This essay will address the potential benefits and drawbacks of such replacements has on individuals and society with relevant examples. On the one hand, there are a plethora of benefits in the usage of plastic money. To begin with, credit and debit cards are convenient to use anywhere compared to cash because the money is transferred digitally to the receipient and there are no physical transactions involved. As a result, it saves time and promotes safe transfers through the digital technology. Additionally, when compared to banknotes people no longer need to concern about crimes such as pitpockets which has increased the security in terms of money management. For instance, in Western countries, retailers and wholesalers are digitalised which have reduced the need of frequent visits to banks. However, such replacements poses more threats to society than cash dealings. That is to say that the risk of online hackers who has the potential to steal money by capturing the card details during transactions using the hacking applications. Despite physical crime, online crime has become more prevalent in our digital age which is associated with greater risks in terms of managing money. For example, in India, machines were designed to capture the pin details of credit cards used in ATM machines was a popular crime news posed a serious threat to society. In conclusion, there are many positives and negatives of using plastic money. The government must enforce the protective measures to prevent online crimes which allows people to enjoy the complete benefits of cash-free society.