The best way to solve traffic and transportation problems is to encourage people to live in cities rather than suburbs or countryside. What extent do you agree or disagree?

Some argue that the optimal solution for transportation is to incentivise citizens to live in cities instead of the outer area or the countryside. I strongly disagree with this viewpoint as this would require advance transportation system and can lead to severe environmental pollution and social problems. The opponents may argue that when citizens live in cities more than in the countryside, the need for commuting will decrease. However, they should take into account that this solution will require cities to improve their public transportation system, which not all cities can afford. Take, for instance, before Bangkok can encourage people to live in the city central area, they had to build an effective system for transportation means that consisted of a myriad of vehicles such as skytrains and buses, which involved a significant time and money to develop, build and operate On the other hand, while people can reduce their need for travel when they live in cities, the large number of citizen will strain the environment and cause more problems. The reason is that as the population increase, the number of garbage and trash will grow accordingly, putting a heavy burden on the enviroment. For example, with a population of 8 million people, Hanoi is estimated to have to process 100 tons of trash everyday, making the urban sanitation system under constant pressure in order to keep the city clean. In conclusion, while incentivising people to leave in central cities areas can reduce the need for travel, this solution will involve significant funds to improve the public transportation and cause more pollution for the environment. Therefore, I strongly disagree with this viewpoint.