The funds for postgraduate research are limited; therefore, some people think that financial support from the government should be provided. However, only scientific research should be funded, rather than other, less useful subjects. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In order for government and the societies they control to improve, it is necessary that support be provided to the next generation of thinkers that pursue postgraduate studies. With this idea of government support in mind, we have to consider putting all of the funding towards science, which is the controversial stance that some desire. Providing the entirety of the money towards science is a horrible idea, as arts and the communication are equally deserving of this postgraduate financing. Although some might support the idea of only funding science, they would be incorrect because the Arts are just as valuable and deserving of monetary support. Not only does art promote creativity, but also it enlightens others to culture in ways that science cannot accomplish. Science is an example of creativity, but it is not as expressive as art because when we witness art we get a glimpse of the nature of the universe and the creative insights of the human brain in ways not limited by science. In addition to this convincing point, one of the primary ways we learn about other cultures is when their art is brought to our museums, and science is more universal which means it does not get into specific culture norms. The arguments presented here are convincing, but we have one more persuasive topic to cover. The government should provide funds to postgraduate communication studies because they are equally impactful as science. Where would our world be if we had not become better at solving problems and enhancing relationships through better communication? Many potential world wars have been resolved without bloodshed because of former postgraduate students who specialized in negotiation (communication), and therefore the government should support this field. Moving on to the next argument, some might state that science has improved relationships with social media; however, studies show that people are worse in their face to face communication, and as result giving money to postgraduates who study relationship communication will improve us in ways that science cannot. These supporting points show why we should not support only science. There is too much focus on science in our modern times and as a result we are losing the aspects of ourselves that have gotten through changes in civilization. Science has been looked as almost having god-like qualities, but actually the areas of art and communication are equally valuable. Successful relationships are based on communication, not science.