Universities and colleges are now offering qualifications through distance learning from the Internet rather than teachers in the classroom. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent years, qualifications issued by universities can be offered through online learning instead of face-to-face teaching. Although students may have less social interactions during their studies, I believe that this disadvantage can be outweighted by the fact that students can have a wider choice of college programmes. There is no doubt that students who learn in campus will interact with others more often than those who complete their studies through the Internet. One major part of the college life of students is the social activities they participated outside the classroom. For example, they can attend different activities such as movie nights or sport competitions with others. Students who are studying through distance learning will miss out these events as they require physical attendence. Hence they have less social interactions with others, which lower their interpersonal skills. However, the development of teaching in a virtual classroom can offer student more choices when they select which university to study in. Back in the days, students may be restricted to enroll in local colleges due to the high travelling fees and accomendation problems. As a result, a lot of students were forced to study in majors that they were not interested in, as their local university did not offer the courses they want. But with overseas colleges providing online programmes to global students nowadays, students can freely choose their field of studies in universities around the world without the heavy financial weight of expensive airplane tickets and rent. In conclusion, there may be less social interactions for online students, the benefit of being able to enroll easily in universities not limited to their home town outweights out weights the cons of obtaining qualifications online.