Nowadays, not enough students choose science subjects in university in many countries. Why? Effects on society?

Currently, There is a decrease in students choosing scientific majors in higher education schools in several parts of the world. This trend may be caused by many reasons and have serious consequences on society. To begin with, It is thought that science subjects are too difficult for students to fully comprehend. For example, a student may find the idea of having to memorize all the steps in a chemical reaction or the different properties of each atom overwhelming and discourage them from pursuing a career in chemistry or biology. Another potential reason why many university students choose not to pursue science- related majors may be the belief that these subjects only can offer limited career opportunities. For instance, some learners may believe that studying biology or physics will only allow them to work in a certain research or laboratory setting, and they will not have the flexibility to explore other career paths. On the other hand, a lack of interest among students in choosing science- related majors may result in significant problems. Firstly, people may be frauded by a shortage of basic scientific knowledge and be more inclined to fall for misinformation spread in the media or online. For example, they might believe in false claims such as that vaccines cause autism or that homeopathy is an effective treatment for serious medical conditions. Secondly, due to the decrease of learners pursuing science subjects, there can be a shortage of labor in scientific fields. For instance, this can create issues in areas that require scientific knowledge, such as healthcare, technology and environmental conservation. In conclusion, the decline in the number of students choosing science subjects could be due to a variety of factors, including the difficulty of science and lack of perceived job prospects. This trend is a problem with numerous negative consequences for society, such as the perpetuation of misinformation and a decrease in the number of people working in STEM fields. Therefore, It is crucial that we work together to help students realize the importance of science education and careers, and to provide them with tools and resources they need to succeed in these fields.