Some people believe that higher education should be funded by the government. Others, however, argue that it is the responsibility of individuals to fund their higher education. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

A group of individuals present the view that the government should pay for the members of the society to obtain higher qualifications, whereas others believe that expenses for higher education need to be paid by people. I strongly agree with the former opinion. On the one hand, some people justifiably argue that higher education should be free. There are numerous people who are unable to continue their studies as a result of financial problems. Therefore, if the government pay for higher education, the number of people who follow their studies at a higher level will soar. So, firstly, individuals would be able to pursue their interests and find better job opportunities. This not only influences the people's standard of living but also brings much profits to the government. secondly, the crime rate can be reduced and the money which is spent for rehabilitation or imprisonment can be allocated to other infrastructures in the society. On the other hand, another group of people claim that the government should not spend funds on higher education.They firmly insist that all the members of the society should be benefited equally from the governmental funds. For example, investing in transport infrastructure or enhancing amenities around the cities can be used by the majority of ordinary residents. However, I do not find this argument convincing as paying for education at higher levels may not be seen as effective for a sizeable number of people, but it can have several positive effects in the long run. For instance, increasing the number of qualified doctors or engineers and thus.improving the quality of healthcare systems or buildings. To conclude, in my view, it is people's right to study higher education for free since it can open the door to a society that has higher standard of living for the whole citizens. Moreover, by paying everyone for their expenses, they encounter issues and may not continue the study and would have adverse effects on the country.