It seems that in majority of countries there are not enough students that are keen to learn science-related subjects. Factors that caused this issue and consequences of it on society will be discussed in this essay.

It seems that in majority of countries there are not enough students that are keen to learn science-related subjects. Factors that caused this issue and consequences of it on society will be discussed in this essay. To begin with, there are several factors that cause this issue. Firstly, people do not understand how are they going to apply the scientific concepts that they study in their adult life, which is vastly demotivating. This complaint often sounds like this "How am I going to use the fact, that a mitochondria is the powerhouse of the cell to pay my taxes?". Secondly, some schools offer scientific content, that is too hard for young people to grasp. This leads to a situation, in which a student receives bad grades across several consequtive tests and, thus, losing the passion to learn science. Unfortunately, this problem can leads to some bad consequences for societies. First of all, physics, biology and chemistry cover a lot of working fields - from a chemical engineer in a bug spray factory to a scientist that is working the cure for a particular virus or an infection. Absence of interest in those subjects in a general population may lead to a lack of people that can work in those jobs. This may lead to various consequences: for example, the lack of rocket scientists may lead to a slow down in the progress in the space programm program. Sadly, more and more teenagers are losing interest towards physics, chemistry and biology which may cause an unpredicticably unpredictable bad impact on our civilisation as a whole.