Young people often copy the behaviour of famous people, so celebrities should only be allowed to advertise healthy food or drink and should not encourage unhealthy habits such as smoking. Do you agree or disagree?

Recently, celebrities are often seen as role models to young people. Therefore, I strongly agree with the idea that celebrities should be restricted on the food or drinks they advertise due to their influence on younger generation. Nowadays, celebrities are seen as role models for most younger generation. There are high chance that young people imitate the behavior of their idols. They develop likeness in what they see celebrities doing due to their likeness for those celebrities. Which include the way they dress, speak, food or drinks they see them consuming. So, seeing them representing a brand can make them believe the brands are the best. For instance, a friend of mine who is also a musician started smoking because he believes that weed gives inspiration as shown by his role model which is Lyn Wayne. He believes the secret behind Lyn Wayne inspiration is smoking marijuana. Therefore, for him to get same inspiration as his role model, he decides to do what he believes his role model does to get to the level he attains, which is a false representation of his talent. Most times followers or fans of celebrity believe that what they see them doing on social media or in public is what makes them who they are or what got them to the position they are. In conclusion, there should be some amount of control on what celebrities can do in public and and products they can advertise. Especially products that are dangerous to our health such as alcohol and smoking due to the magnitude of their influence on younger generations.