Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (for example working for a charity , improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports to younger children). To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, engaging in volunteering activities has brought an immense impact towards society as it is vital especially in the academic field. Many have suggested it is a productive way to aid students in developing and determining their field of interests. This essay will argue why including community services to the school curriculum is beneficial for adolescents and society, and why others think it is not. Some people are inclined to believe that volunteering is unnecessary and insignificant for learning. Education is not solely limited to the theoretical foundations that are typically learnt from educational institutions, but practical experiences are also learnt out through serving community hospitals or teaching for physically-challenged in public libraries. In this way, they are able to acquire knowledge and professional experiences that schools do not usually offer, which maximizes their involvement to learn new skills and expand their career opportunities. Many organizations offer volunteer opportunities including courses and training which may improve the presentation of their job applications. Employers often value not only academic qualifications, but also acquired experiences such as communication and management skills. Overall, it would be advantageous for students to allocate community services since exposure to affairs outside school may potentially set applicants apart and stand out amongst other job aspirants. In conclusion, I completely agree that adding unpaid community services to the secondary curriculum should be mandated since it provides supplementary skills and it is essential for future job applications.