In many countries traditional food is being replaced by international fast food. Some people claim that this has negative effects on both families and societies. To what extent do you agree or disagree

International fast food brands, such as McDonald and KFC, have gained popularity worldwide, which therefore triggers a concern for some people, claiming that the trend may exert a negative impact on both families and society. From my perspective, I cannot agree the opinion more, believing that under no circumstance should we ignore the downsides brought by the fast food industry. On the one hand, the increasing number of citizens are under snowed with work and study, driven by the fierce competition across the globe, which means that they need to fill their stomaches as soon as possible. Not only can fast- food restaurants save consumers' time and effort but they can provide essential nutrients, which therefore are favoured by the young and old worldwide. However, familes will take a toll in the long term. Eating outside frequently will dilute the relationship among family members. For example, there will be less opportunities for children to talk with their parents, which could alienate their close ties. Furthermore, fast food cuisines are normally less nutritious than that of traditional dishes. With high suger, high calorie and high fat provided by the fast food, it may result in some diseases related to the lack of sufficient and diversified nutritions, which in turn will place a heavy financial burden on both individuals and families. For another, as fast food becoming prevalent, the increasing number of citizens would be diagnosed with obesity, diabetes and other diet-related illnesses. As a result, the government will spend more public fund on healthcare instead of education, scientific discovery and so on, which could get in the way of the country's development. Moreover, different from traditional cuisines featuring with happiness and cultural inheritance, fast food is monotonous, which may not only deprive us of the pleasure brought from the food, but the cherished cultures. For instance, the making of Jiaozi, or the Chinese dumplings represents a tradition followed from one generation to another. Although it is time-consuming, fast food is unable to replace it. In conclusion, both families and societies definitely suffer a lot from the shift from traditional food to fast food and the trend should be reversed immediately as long as we want to live healthily and happily.