Some university students want to learn about other subjects in addition to their main subjects. Others believe it is more important to give all their time and attention to studying for a qualification.

There are debates on a course selection for university students in terms of their necessity. While others might think it is essential to focus on mandatory subjects that are beneficial in their future career, I believe that people should take additional courses, since it can expand their knowledge as well as skills.  Devoting time and energy to learn essential subjects for work preparation can easily make people have a successful career path in their workplace. For some people, being a smart person that exceed the qualifications from the company, consequently lead them to step the next level. Take an illustration of someone who has mastering knowledge on programming and decoding programmes that are required from the company. When they become employee in that place, they certainly will be recognizable by many people and have a likelihood to be involved in many projects, thus resulting in a quick promotion. However, I think studying only for qualifications will only limit the students’ opportunity to nourish themselves with other knowledge as it might be useful too during their work period. On the other hand, additional subjects are having roles in not only constructing new knowledge, but also certain skills. Generally, when people are enrolling themselves into optional courses, they are generating new abilities that will subliminally improve their soft and hard skills area, hence consequently adding values to their personal branding. Furthemore, different areas also help students to be more adaptable, once their paths are not going as they expected or calculated, since they already equipped with back-up skills. I support this view because apart from adding information to enrich knowledge, learning should be media to improve students’ abilities to variety areas and circumstances. To conclude, studying to fulfill certain qualifications in job might help students to achieve an excellent career path, but learning different areas are more crucial to build another skills for them.