20.People who damage public property, such as buildings or status should be required to do community service (such as cleaning parks) as a punishment rather than other forms of punishment (such as paying a fine or going to prison). To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Individuals, who damage state property should be necessary do public work, such as helping with cleaning streets as a punishment, rather than other various types of sanctions, like penalty. Personally, I assume, that people must do community service, because this can teach them how to treat public assets properly and can cause guilt or shame in front of others. Firstly, society always should be taught by the government, what the consequences will be, if you damage something. So, those actions, such as public cleaning and helping with building some structures or monuments are more educational, rather than just paying a fine, due to the anonymity of this action. For instance, according to psychologists people usually do not feel guilt or shame if no one else knows about their actions. Consequently, paying a penalty would not make a person regret about done. Secondly, places like prisons typically make individuals even worse, than they were before. This might lead to much more inferior actions, such as murder or violence. For example, statistics from the government of the USA illustrate, that people who got out of prison, often do the same crimes or even worse. In conclusion, it seems to me, that doing community service is a much better idea, rather than the option of going to prison. However, many countries prefer to issue a fine, because it is less work and income to the treasury.