You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Nowadays, not enough students choose science subjects in university in many countries. What are the reasons for this problem? What are the effects on society? You should write at least 250 words.

In the present day, universities in many countries have not enough science students, causing many problems for our community and country. There are various reasons why there are fewer students in science majors. In the following paragraphs, the causes and effects of this issue will be outlined in detail. The lack of science students is caused by many reasons. For the first reason, there are more fields of knowledge that allow students to study in deeper detail than before. For example, in the field of arts, there are many new branches that just appeared in the present age, such as graphic designing and multimedia. As a result, there are more students who want to study intensively in other branches causing fewer students to choose a major in science. Another reason is that science subject is hard in the view of most students. One example is that electrical engineering, which is one of the applied science subjects, is very complicated since students have to understand electric circuits, the electromagnetics field and advanced mathematics. Therefore, most high school students do not choose these majors due to their complexity. This problem causes many negative effects on our society. Firstly, the country will lack labourers who have skills in science, such as engineers or doctors, which cause serious problems in the country. For example, Thailand does have not enough doctors in the health system, which causes a very high doctor workload and then doctors cannot take care of all of their patients. Another effect is that the country will lack scientific research because this kind of research is mainly produced in universities. In Thailand, there is very little research because of student, and the lack of research slows country's development. In conclusion, there are various reasons why students do not choose to study in the field of science, and then the problem causes many struggles in the country. However, this problem can be solved by increasing encouragement from the government, such as giving higher salaries to researchers and scientists.