Our personalities are predetermined as a result of our genes before we are born and there is nothing that can be done to change our character traits. To what extent do you agree?

It is believed that our character traits have been decided since before we were born as a result of the genes and as human beings, we can do nothing about it. However, I strongly disagree with this statement because I am sure that society’s personality is reluctant to the situation and every individual can change. First of all, I believe that society’s behaviour is the result of their interaction with their environment and how they were taught in the first place. The fact that not all parents from good and well-behaved families have good kids shows that not all genes are inherited by their children. folk who are born from rich families should have gotten more access to good educations and that is why they should be well-mannered. Moreover, they have been trained since young. On the other hand, some underprivileged folks who come from poor family sometimes would be seen as ignorant and rude because they are never told how to handle the situation in a good manner by their family. However, the reality is much more complex than that. For example, if before going to school parents from poor families teach their kids to have more empathy and learn how to behave, it will always engrain in his/her minds. Therefore, this kid will help the other without any complaints at all. Therefore, personality could not be determined from the genes. Secondly, there is a saying that people always change time by time. There is no guarantee that good people will stay good until the end of their lives. A villain could be a hero and vice-versa. For instance, Umar bin Khattab was Muslim’s enemy in Prophet Muhammad's story but then he realized that he did wrong until finally he changed his heart and began to love Islam and became a legend in Islam’s history. In conclusion, I never believe that traits have been decided since before human beings were born as a result of genes and we can not do anything about it. It always depends on the situation and people always change time by time.