Many efforts have been made by countries to address challenges concerning the environment but the situation has not improved. What are the possible reasons for environmental degradation? Are there any solutions to combat this problem? Support your answer with specific reasons and examples.

The degradation of environment has been an emerging issue for many countries. In this essay, we will analyse possible reasons for environmental damage and suggest measures to tackle this problem. There are two underlying causes of this relentless issue. One of the reasons is the over-expansion of cities. For many countries, their priorities are the development of society, leading to the establishment of many infrastructures to accommodate more population, consequently, numerous green spaces are replaced by concrete constructions. Moreover, the growth of population contributes to a rising number of private cars, resulting in an increased level of greenhouse effect due to air pollution. On the other hand, there are multiple ways to combat this challenge. One effective method can be, governments should include places for planting during the construction of public facilities, such as including a central park at the city centre as well as planting more trees along road sides. Furthermore, governments should introduce strict policy to monitor car owners. For example, the transportation department should penalise people who owned a petrol car, and encourage them to switch to a more environmental friendly vehicle. In addition, the government should allocate more money in improving the public transportation system, transforming it to a more comfortable and convenient way of travelling. In conclusion, the reasons for environmental degradation can be the over-development of human society, which lead to an increased quantity of cars and the diminishment of green areas. However, the government plays a pivotal role in protection of environment, and possible tactics can be addressed to minimised problem.