In recent years, many governments have brought in laws to ban smoking in public places, such as bars, restaurents and offices. To what extent do you agree or disagree with banning smoking in public places?

These days, smoking is extremely popular but it is harmful to human health. As a result of this, many laws have been brought to ban smoking in public places. Personally, I strongly agree with the view that smoking is prohibited in public places. In the first place, smoking should be forbidden, as smoking not only leads to health problems for the smoker, but also for people close by. This can be explained by the fact that public places are places that serve the needs for many people. Therefore, the more people smoke, the more people around them become passive smokers. It is a fact that passive smoking has a great impact on health. For instance, people who inhale cigarette smoke will easily go down with health problems such as: heart diseases, lung cancer, infertility, incurable disease,… Another reason why I agree with preventing smoking in public places is that smoking not only affects the people health but also pollutes the environment. That is because to make cigarettes, billions of trees are cut down; the soil and water are contaminated with toxic chemicals, the air becomes polluted. And after use, they become waste, polluting the natural environment. On the other hand, there is an argument that smoking is not against the law, so individuals should have the freedom to smoke where they want. They believe that a ban on smoking in public places or places like bars and pubs will bankrupt them because smokers would not go there anymore. In conclusion, It is advisable that smoking is banned in public areas. The government needs to strictly punish people who smoke in the wrong place.