Many museums and historical sites are mainly visited by tourists but not local people. Why is this the case and what can be done to attract more local people to visit these places?

Nowaday, a lot of museums and historical sites seem attract tourists, rather than locals. This is a problem which greatly impacts the local tourism industry. There are several reasons leading to this and solutions should be adopted to solve this issue. Museums and historical sites attract less local visitors for the following reasons. Firstly, people who live in the neighborhood are often familiar with their traditional customs and history. They have lived and attached to this place for a long time so they don’t feel excited about local sites. Therefore, residents often choose other attractions which they can explore various traditions and beautiful scenes. Moreover, the costs at tourist destinations are often high so local people don’t pay for familiar experience. Although this is seem a quite a difficult task, there are a number of solutions that could encourage them to do so. One possible solution for local authority is organize many activities such as cultural festivals, galas, special tour,… As a result, this can make sites more attractive, which can not only pay the attention of locals but also increase the number of visitors from other places. Another solution is upgrading service including food, rest, parking place … to satisfy the needs of travelers and encourage them to visit these historical attractions. In conclusion, there are many reasons why museum and historical sites are mainly visited by tourists and accordingly, there are also some key solutions which local government can do. I think local people should travel this sites to understand more about history and tradition.