Some people think that environmental problems are too big for individuals to solve, while others think that the government cannot solve these environmental problems unless individuals make some action. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Environmental problems, such as global warming, are a huge concern for the world that we are living in today. Therefore, it is paramount that we try to solve the issues both on a global and national scale. One of the biggest threats to our planet today is the increase in climate change, which has caused a rise in our sea water levels, as well as melting of the ice caps in the Antarctic. To ensure we do not cause more damage to the Earth, it is of the upmost importance that we deal with this problem on a global level. For instance, if the World Health Organisation created new environmentally friendly rules that every country must follow, then the overall impact this would have would be hugely beneficial. Moreover, if the majority of countries across the globe adhered to such rules, for example walking to work instead of driving, then the overall carbon footprint generated would rapidly decline. As a result, many of the challenges we are seeing right now would be eradicated. On the other hand, every nation has their own significant role to play, and small changes lead to huge differences. Furthermore, every change considered on a local scale can accumulate and result in an overall decrease in the net emissions of the planet. For example, in the United Kingdom the National Health Service is planning to go completely net zero by 2040, by reducing the amount of waste created and economically increasing sustainability levels. Although, this may be believed to be a small difference, with time there will be a great overall impact. To conclude, in my opinion environmental problems would be better dealt with on a global scale, however there is so much we can do on a national basis as well.