Some people think that it is the responsibility of governments to take care of the environment, while others believe that it is the responsibility of people to take care of the environment. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The earth has been destroyed due to over-exploitation of the environment. It is argued that the government has the responsibility to take care of the environment while others think that it is the people task. In my opinion, while the government working on environmental laws and policies, promoting eco-friendly movement could be done by the people. A collaborations is needed to save the environment. On the one hand, the government has the power to influence other stakeholders. The environmental problem is complex due to the involvement of the government, the private sector and the society. The authorities could play a role as a bridge which connects their interests. In Indonesia, for instance, the government has successfully issued a law regarding the use of plastic bags. As a result, the society has been pushed to brig their own bag for shopping. According to the data, this policy can reduced 70% of plastic bags usage among the society. On the other hand, the community could works together to rise general awareness on environmental issues. Moreover, people also has responsibility on this issue because it is their daily problem. Technically speaking, the community could rise the awareness by making education events as well as promoting eco-friendly message via social media. For example, there is a community namely river guardian which actively cleaning the river from the domestics waste. They are not only practically tackled the river waste problem but also promoting their activity in social media to raise people's awareness. To conclude, although the government should take bigger responsibility in term of policy and influencing power, people should also make an innitiative to solve environmental problem as well as promoting their action to the digital platforms. The environmental condition is a complex problem which could only solved by a collaborations of people and the government.