Nowadays many people choose to be self- employed rather than to work for a company or organization. Why it might be the case? What could be the disadvantages if being self-employed?

Lately, self employed people is becoming trend in many work environment. This became more apparent after the covid pandemic force people to work from home. Despite many advantages of being self employed, many disagree with this. One of the most mentioned benefit of being self employed is the flexibility of time, worker can adjust their time of work freely and decide when to work, when to takes time off and do something else. With this they have more balanced work and life and able to take care of their family and do things they care about. Another advantages is the ability to set your own pay and virtually limitless income, this can be true if one have a very unique skill that can be done from home, usually this comes from IT sector. Being self-employed require the ability of working independently without supervision, which is not the forte that many people have, certain kind people are unable to work without supervision and guidance, hence, being self-employed is not suitable for this kind of people. Other than that, being self-empolyed and be your own boss means there is no more financial stability given by established company which gives stable income, one have to do more strict financial planning to cover the living expenses when the hard times comes, this especially happen to one who do project-based work. Furthermore, another thing to consider when deciding to become self-employed is the loss of benefit used to be provided by employers, such as healthcare, insurance and pension fund, this benefit when summed can be financially significant to support workers. Lastly, self-employed people also have to deal with isolation because they are working alone and rarely makes connection with colleague. It can be concluded that many disadvantages of as self-employed makes people prefer working to an employer. This include the inablity ability to work indepently, no stable income, absence of benefit given by employer, and isolation can be hard to deal.