Some people believe that professional athletes serve as positive role models for young people, while others argue that their behavior both on and off the field has a negative influence. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Throughout history, people have always shown interest in different kinds of sports. This led to the creation of Olympic games and it motivated people towards sharpening their skills and reaching better results. Sports have been a part of our daily life for quite some time now and some people believe that professional sportsmen have a positive effect on their fans. Meanwhile others tend to disagree, because they think that an athlete’s inconsistent career might do more damage on young people ’s mindset than good. In this essay I will overlook both views and state my opinion. On one hand, sport demands stubbornness and strong will which are really important qualities for every person’s life. These values help humans achieve great results not only in sport’s area but also in tough situations in life, so with that kind of beliefs, sportsmen motivate people to never give up. Sport is also one of the main sources of healthy lifestyle, because dopamine and endorphins released doing sports help people relax and it makes them more often happy. This leads to lower chances of developing depression or other mental health problems which eventually reduce the number of suicides. Because of that athletes are idols for a lot of young people. On the other hand, a sportsman’s infrequent job may cause fans to lose determination for reaching their goals which might influence people to give up in rigid situations. To give an example, if you are trying to pass a karate exam and with one hour remaining of the exam you decide to call it a day just because you are physically tired, you will never get the belt. Long gaps in sport careers also might cause a decrease in skills and it can seriously affect athletes’ results. For instance if somebody wanted to participate in the Olympics and they had a trauma before, they might not be able to do that because they won’t be ready. In my opinion, I think that it’s normal for sportsmen to be inconsistent because it’s just how it works and I strongly agree with a position that suggests that athletes make a good influence on young people. To conclude, as any other career sport has its cons and pros, but depending on a person’s goals, it can have a strong impact on an individual’s life.