Some university students want to learn about other subjects in addition to their main subjects. Others believe it is more important to give all their time and attention to studying for a qualification.

There have been conflicting views about the subject preference of university students. Whilst some people opine that it is more essential to get qualified so all students’ endeavour should be in that area, others believe that unrelated subjects to their main area can be learned as well which I also definitely agree with. This essay will discuss both sides of the argument. On one side, people think that students should give all their energy to their main subjects to get qualified. They see the topic of becoming knowledgeable on other subjects can be time-consuming and they don’t want to get distracted from their main aim. For instance, if you are an engineering student, you shouldn’t pay any attention to the history classes even if you are interested. Instead, you can go to any library to work more on formulas that you learned in the previous lecture. However, in my opinion, all subjects are complementary to each other. Even though it seems like a waste of time it may lead to greater consequences. On the contrary, there are also people defence that learning other subjects other than your main area can be complementary and may lead to better outcomes. As an example, even if you are an engineering student, you can take history classes to enhance your point of view by understanding incidents that happened in the past and applying it in the future. Furthermore, if people wanted to learn more about other subjects but limited him/herself in order to be successful in their main area, they might get depressed in the long term because of the pressure put on themselves. In conclusion, should the students give all their attention and time to a specific area? While some people see this as a distraction, others opine that it may concluded in a better way. In my opinion, all subjects are complementary to each other and individuals should ameliorate themselves in any area they are interested in.