A teacher's duty is to teach, not to be a parent. Do you agree or disagree with this statement? Where does the role of the parent finish and that of the teacher begin?

The role of a teacher is primarily to educate the youth and should not be interlinked with the position of parents. In this essay, I will discuss why I agree with this notion and form a conclusion. On the one hand, a child is solely their parent’s responsibility. When enrolled within an educational facility, an educator should only be expected to broaden subject matters that relate to school. For instance, Math and English should be demonstrated within a institution as, these are often concepts that cannot be taught at home. Moreover, when the child is within their own establishment it is the direct responsibility of family at home to discipline their offspring. Within the house, they should be encouraged on mannerisms that will benefit their character, like saying please and thank you. Children are a direct representative of their folks, therefore it is vital that they know right from wrong. To give an example, a instructor could present skills that help a young with their spelling, however if they behaved poorly within the classroom, then this behaviour should be corrected by their guardians. On the other hand, educators almost equal the role of a parent during the school day. To explain this further, perhaps a youth is interested in the arts and possess musical attributes, this can be encourgaed within the educational building by the adults and then further enhanced at home by the family. Day care centres also instil valuable attributes that can be taken further into adolescence. For example, toddlers will often learn the importance of sharing items of food within a nursery, this quality of sharing will become second nature to them and carry on into their adult lives. In conclusion, guardians are ultimately responsible for their child and should not expect teachers to go above and beyond their limits for children that are not their own.