Some people think that we should replace old buildings and houses in cities with more modern buildings. Other people think we should protect old buildings. Discuss both these views and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant experience from your own experience. Write at least 250 words.

The global population has increased exponentially over the past two centuries and, as a result, our cities have expanded beyond recognition. While much of this modern growth has been happened on new ground, some has grown up organically around the many old buildings already standing. Some urban planners have suggested replacing some of these older buildings with more modern ones, while others believe we should preserve them. The main argument for urban renovation concerns practicality and safety. Buildings constructed in the modern era use new designs, materials and ideas. Many older buildings have structural issues that are both expensive to maintain and potentially hazardous if they contain materials, such as asbestos, that can cause serious health issues. Replacing them with newer buildings therefore has a positive impact both on the economy and on the health and general welfare of its populace. In addition, modern buildings make better use of space, a very important consideration in cramped inner-city environments. Visiting Manhattan, many new tourists are struck by how it manages to fit nearly two million people into sixty square kilometres, while Barcelona, which is millennia-old, needs an area over double that size to accommodate the same number. However, there are limits to what can be considered sensible urban redevelopment. Many older buildings have great aesthetic, historical or cultural value; and the economy of a large number of cities today relies not only on business, but also on tourism. People visiting cities such as Rome, Istanbul and Moscow are primarily interested in old buildings and other historical sites. If these were to be replaced with new constructions, the cultural heritage and identity of these cities would be at risk, as would much of their revenue from tourism in consequence. It is also important that a city’s unique history and identity should be passed on to future generations. To conclude, some redevelopment of urban areas is both logical and necessary for practical reasons. Nevertheless, it is important to remember that a city’s physical history can be an expression of its identity as well as an asset to its economy and that any such redevelopment should only take place after some very careful decision-making as to a buildings cultural significance.