Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

People have different views about whether individuals learn a new language for the purpose of traveling and working abroad or for other intentions. While learning languages for a job and journey is important, I would lean towards the latter opinion as I believe that people have different aims in this case. On the one hand, the majority of people have decided to become bilingual to be able to travel and work in foreign countries. Firstly, it is a must for those who want to have a decent career in a strange region to speak in their mother tongue. The ability to communicate through the specific language of a country in the workplace gives us these opportunities to present ourselves effectively to supervisors and not feel alienated from our colleagues or folks. Furthermore, these days, cutting-edge technology offers travelers a wide variety kinds of applications and websites to interact with natives conveniently and there is no need to be taught other languages. On the other hand, individuals can take steps to become fluent in foreign languages for their higher education or curiosity regarding various traditions and values in the world. Nowadays, many students tend to pursue their educations in the world's top universities as Yale University, so they have to be bilingual to be able to gain a high cognition of their courses and be productive in classes and teamwork as well. Moreover, they should find new friends to counteract the sense of homesick. Also, numerous people tend to know more about culture in other countries so they have been taught their target languages. For example, Tom Jerard, an American boy is multilingual. He can speak fluently around 80 diverse languages such as Japanese, Persian, Korean, and so on. He has learned them just because of his high passion in communicating people with different nationalities and curiosity about their traditions. In conclusion, everyone has a peculiar target for learning a language and it isn't related to alone travel and work overseas.