Some people believe that the government should not support arts and other activities. However, others believe that the arts and other activities should be funded. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

People partially feel that the government shouldn't focus finance's on arts but rather on improving residential areas. On the other hand, personages believe that art and culture are staples in society, I also agree with this ideology. In this essay I will be discussing both points of view. Firstly, large sums of people's taxes are invested in arts that cost millions of pounds which can be potentially funded in new housing and residential areas. For instance, according to The Times newspaper, an average of £10,000 is projected into the London museum, in order to find pieces. However this is unjustly as although taxes are paid by the community, they have no say where their money ends up, often struggling to even find accommodation due to housing shortages. On the other hand, art often brings tourism into areas. This is presented as millions of people visit Paris for the Mona Lisa piece, by Van Gogh. This elucidates that fine work alone can actually be financially profitable, bringing a substantial amount in by merely initially investing a couple of thousands. This denotes that investments today into arts that become incredibly beneficial in the future. Overall, although inhabitants may feel that wasting money on art and culture is unnecessary as it could be used for better expenditures, ultimately when investing a small portion of taxes, it can potentially make you a substantial return.