Some people say History is one of the most important school subjects. Other people think that in today’s world, subjects like Science and Technology are more important than History. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

In light of the advancement of technology, there has been a strong emphasis on the importance of the subjects such as Science and Technology over History. However, I will assert that learning history is paramount of importance, as it provides useful insights into making decisions in the future. The idea that Science and Technology are vitally important reflects on the contemporary needs of our society. A principal example of this would be the prevalence of automated devices and machines such as cars, and transactional systems. Given this predictable situation for the foreseeable future, possessing a wealth of knowledge pertaining to science and technology will take the edge in order to address various issues as well as secure better employment. However, I strongly argue that we shouldn’t underestimate the value of history with respect to making informed decisions. For instance, Japan, in which I was born and raised, has been spurring students to have a better understanding of historical events, in particular, a war that we experienced in 1945. As a student, I cultivated a firm idea and mindset disagreeing with a war, which would give rise to countless casualties, illnesses, and money thanks to the lessons through history class. Similarly, in my experience, other Japanese citizens have a mutual perception towards the opposition of wars and will never participate in any sort of conflict. Therefore, history can certainly inform people of not making the same mistakes and assisting with better decision-making. In conclusion, while some are inclined to state that science and technology are more significant considering today’s movements of society, I still argue that history can contribute to facilitating people’s minds in the right way and the capability of making an informed decision.