In many countries today there are many highly qualified graduates without employment. What factors, may have caused this situation and what, in your opinion, should be done about it? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, many best graduating students are facing difficulties in finding a job. The writer identifies that limited job opportunities and low soft skills from the graduates are the main factors. Providing a wider job opportunities and a good curriculum might be the best solution. To begin with, most graduate people are struggling to apply job because the job supply and the demand are not equal. To exemplify this, doctors and health workers are needed in Papua Province but the most needed degrees come from environmenal sector not from health sectors. Not only is it cause by limited job opportunities, but also by having low professional soft skills which are essensial in the real work. As a result, many fresh graduates have been rejected from the office because they do not have a required skill related with the job. From the writer’s view, since the limitation of job opportunities are the main factor, the government should make a regulation to analyse the number of important field-works in the society to encourage people to choose their study subject based on what is necessary. For example, based on the data analysis that Papua’s society need doctor, government should push or provide scholarship to encourage people studying doctor. Turning to the second solution of low soft skills, the university hold a vital position in fostering curiculum revision to be more approaching to upgrade student’s soft skills rather that theoretical knowledge. For instance, the university can push student to build their public speaking skill by providing a good communication training. To sum up, apart from limited carrier possibilities and low practical soft-skill possessed by the student, government and education institution hold important function on providing not only but also a great highly-skilled student.