It is the government's responsibility to provide financial support to old people after they retire or individuals should save money for themselves. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

One of the most controversial issues nowadays relates to who should be accountable to finances for retired seniors. While some suggest that governments should be responsible for it, others recommend that the elder should be responsible themselves. In my opinions they should work together to solve this problem. Some people argue that it is the government who plays the indispensable and main role in providing financial support for retired seniors. Due to the growing age and the daily declining physical functions, earning capacity of the elder are relatively lacking compared to youngsters especially when they are retired. At the same time, the elder have contributed a lot to society when they were on the job. For instance, those who used to be policemen have protected us and maintained public order. Ultimately, it is the right time for the government to support them financially. Other people believe that this financial responsibility should be taken by those retired seniors themselves. The government's total financial recourses are limited, and there are many important areas such as national defense and science that require large expenditures. If the elder want to achieve financial surplus, and a high quality of life, saving money on their own are more reliable. Saving money themselves means more manageable wealth and more thoughtful spending plans, which can bring about a happier old age. In my view governments and individuals are jointly responsible for financial problems of retired seniors. With a portion of the government's financial support and the individual's sensible and scientific money-saving habits, older people will be more financially secure in retirement with less reliance on government and more rational spending plans, leading to a better elder friendly society. In conclusion, it seems to me that governments and retired seniors should collaborate to maintain the financial capacity of the elder.