Apartment Security Survey You live in an apartment building. The apartment management wants to improve the security of the building. One option is to install a new lock in each apartment, the other option is to install more security cameras in the building. The management is surveying your opinion on these security improvement plans. Option A: I choose to have a new lock for my apartment. Option B: I choose to have more cameras in the building.

The topic of apartment security has sparked a debate and controversy. I opine that a new lock is an apropos option due to the prevention of stealing. Conspicuously, since current door locks are too old, breaking them is relatively easy. Given that, changing a lock to a biometric lock or an RFID lock can bring more difficulty for burglars to break them. Not only do these locks give better security, but they have a backup mechanism to automatically call the police in the case of emergency; this feature can help us a lot when someone tries to break a main door forcefully. Nevertheless, cameras covering each corner of the building may serve a valuable purpose. Live and recorded feed from the entire building is beneficial to catch a culprit. Nonetheless, prevention of live stealing can not happen with these cameras; recordings are the best that we can get; anyone can steal at any time wearing a mask or a hoodie. Based on the aforementioned reasons, I still stand by my stance. That is, cameras as apartment security is not a suitable option considering putting a hard stop on stealing.