Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

On account of the modern technological advancement, there has been a significant demand for subjects in relation to science and technology in higher education. Under the circumstances, there has been contention over whether students opt for either their favorite courses or some practical subjects which are often associated with science. Although taking those subjects may bolster students ’ career prospects, I strongly argue that they should have the right to choose their preferred study, considering the current school curricula as well as their motivations. To begin, students who have completed a degree in the realm of science and technology may have more promising careers. According to a survey conducted in Japan, more than 85 per cent of those who have studied these areas were able to obtain a job immediately after graduating from university. This result solidly implies that majoring in them have a strong edge over any other students who have done other degrees. Nevertheless, students ’ internal motivations should not be disregarded. For instnace, if students were not to have any interest in science, not only would they feel immensely dimotivated demotivated to study, but they could also drop out of the course. In this instance, it would defeat the purpose of enrolling in the course. Furthermore, in light of the present educational system commonly adopted widely, the majority of students must undertake compulsory subjects at school. Therefore, students have the capability to opt for their course, which is aligned with their interests and strengths. In conclusion, while science and technology might bring enormous benefits to students regarding their career opportunities, I strongly belive that their motivations, preferences, strengths must be considered at university level.