Nowadays, many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or an organisation. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

In modern life, a notable ascending trend is registered in the number of self-employments instead of working for a consortium or organization. This essay will discuss about reasons for this trend and state some visible drawbacks. It is undeniable that becoming an entrepreneur is profitable in some aspects. Initially, financial benefits of self- employed people will engage with their work efficiency. In fact, in many companies, employee earnings are related to the position salary cap, regardless of efforts or working results. Working alone creates a great chance to entrepreneurs to make a small fortune by themselves. Therefore, self-employments can provide for their families and live in high-quality conditions. In addition, working without strict legislations can boost human’s creativity. Indeed, when there is no pressure, it is easier for brains to come up with unique and special ideas. For example, several eminent content creators said that they want to work by themselves to keep their freedom and therefore creativity will be unlimited. However, it is no doubt that there are many risks that entrepreneurs have to deal with. Firstly, having no upper managers or no pressure on work can be construed as having no steady salaries. Managing your own business means that your incomes depend on several factors such as market situation, national economy, … As a result, it is not surprised that your annual wages will be fluctuated a lot. In other words, sometime the salaries will be extremely low and entrepreneurs cannot afford basic life conditions. Secondly, self-employments have to handle all fields of work and it is difficult to balance between personal life and business. They have to cope with many fields from financial management, analyzing statistics to generating ideas, checking errors. As a consequent, it can cause some detrimental effects to both mental and physical heath. For instance, according to Vietnamese research, the ratio of entrepreneurs who have ailments is extremely high. In conclusion, I believe that besides beneficial sakes, being self-employed is not innocuous and has to be considered carefully.