with the pressures on today's young people to Succeed academically. Some people believe that non-academic subjects at school eg. physical education and cookery should be removed from the syllabus so that chicken can concentrate wholly on acadesoic subjects. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In today's competitive learning environment, the youth faces immense pressure to excel in their studies. Parents, teachers, and relatives often emphasize the pursuit of high results, side-lining the importance of non-academic subjects. For this reason, many argue to remove them from the curriculum. This essay aims to explore the vital role of incorporating extracurricular subjects in the syllabus. Primarily, extracurricular activities are deemed indispensable in contemporary education as they facilitate holistic development, a key requirement for success in the present times. For e.g. drama classes empowers students to express themselves freely, overcoming stage fright. Such activities instil confidence, a trait that cannot be cultivated through textbook learning but only through such new disciplines. Moreover, incorporation of various non-academic subjects offers additional benefits to the student body. For instance, physical education classes goes beyond teaching mere exercises; it provides them an insight into a healthy lifestyle. It meticulously teaches them to embrace a healthy style of living. It exhorts them to exercise daily and imbue them with habits that will benefit them throughout their life and also protect them from the risk of obesity. Furthermore, each student possesses different qualities and it is plausible that not all excel academically and they are good at something else. Maybe someone is a great dancer or an amazing piano player and might aspire to become that one day. Thus, the presence of non-academic subjects in the curriculum is imperative. These subjects not only allow students to explore diverse fields but also unlock their creative potential, aiding in the identification of potential career paths and fostering personal growth. However, by removing non-academic subjects from the syllabus, students can focus and devote more time on the academic subjects. It will enable them to clear their doubts, spend more time with the teacher and hone their academic skills. But, this doesn’t mean we can completely eliminate the non-academic subjects. Everything should be done in a balance. To conclude, including extracurriculars in the curriculum is paramount and contributes significantly in their personal growth and gives them an opportunity to discover their real potential.