A growing number of people work by telecommuting, that is, the employees works from home, using a computer and the internet to connect with the office. what are the advantages and disadvantages of working this way?

It is certainly true that after the COVID-19 pandemic, significant changes came in corporate working culture. Telecommuting became an essential medium to work from home using a computer and an internet connection. Although working from home causes one to miss office culture and fellow employees in person, it saves employees time, travel to the office, transportation money, and increases productivity. This essay will discuss both the advantages and disadvantages of working from home. Firstly, the primary advantage of working from home is that employees save not only time to travel to the office but also transportation fares, and at the same time, the time saved has been utilized for work, thereby increasing productivity. In big cities like Bangalore, it takes at least two hours to reach the office one way, and most employees spend at least four hours in traveling. Thanks to the work -from- home option, it saved employees precious time, and the time saved has been channeled into work, resulting in increased productivity. Secondly, for organizations, the work -from- home facility has reduced the costs associated with infrastructure and maintenance. For instance, it requires a lot of electricity to run air conditioners in the office and also supporting staff to clean office premises. On the other hand, working from home has a few disadvantages. The primary disadvantage is that employees miss their peers and the office environment. Going to the office provides a chance to refresh one's mind and stay informed about what's happening around the world. Moreover, some employees misuse the work -from- home facility, focusing more on personal business work than office work. To conclude, although working from home leads to the absence of office culture and fellow employees in person, it saves employees precious time in traveling to the office, transportation money, and increases productivity.