Most countries want to improve the standard of living through economic development, however, others think social value is lost as a result. Do you think the advantages of economic development outweigh the disadvantages?

It is true that most countries concentrate on promoting the development of economy to improve well-being of citizens. While I admit that there might be some negative consequences to maintain social value of this trend, I highly agree the benefits of prompting economic development outweighs its drawbacks. I am in favor of that economic development is the prerequisite to maintain society value, which is related to our mindset. First, according to the demand theory of Maslo, only when the basic material needs are met, they would consider the demand of mental value. For example, if the basic foods and water can not be ensured in rural area, local people in poverty might conduct crimes for foods to survive. The sense of insecurity makes it hard for them to think about the meaning of social value. Second, technology has been rapidly upgraded along with the economic development, contributing to lower expenditure for people to buy a cell phone or Television, meaning that it is easy for government to spread correct social value nowadays. Compared to those in previous period, young children can be educated correct social value via attractive format when they are scrolling down TikTok videos in the friction of time. Therefore, to maintain and propaganda social value, economic development is indispensable. However, I understand that critics argue that social value would be lost with rapid economic development. Some profit-oriented companies frequently sell unhealthy foods and even counterfeit foods to publics. For instance, some fast-food restaurants in China have been complained by consumers about selling pre-progressing eggs, a type of artificial product to public health. Moreover, public sectors might not make investments to build or renovate art-related constructions, which would inevitably bring minimum financial benefits to society. However, artworks in our cities, such as statue and some historical buildings, manifest the cultural heritage of our country. Demolishing the buildings to build skyscraper to promote economic development will do harm to extending our national civilization. In conclusion, while I understand only pursuing economic development to improve standard of living has brought some potential problems, I consider economic development is the prerequisite to maintain social value.