Some people say that history is one of the most important school subjects. Other people think that, in today’s world, subjects like science and technology are more important than history. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Some believe that history plays a significant role in students ’ life compared to other school subjects, while others think that science and technology play this a more important role these days. In my opinion, history is not as much important as science and technology, and I will discuss my reason below. There is a group of people who thinks that being informed about history is more important than other school subjects for students as it looks to the past / provides insights into the past. Actually, history is about our ancestors, their values and lifestyles, to which being familiar can help students to gain traditional and moral values. History also has many things to say about the reasons for or the consequences of choices which were are made in the past. It is exactly what can broaden students ’ horizons and lead them to make better decisions. Thus, studying has a significant/far-reaching effect on their lives. On the other hand, another group believes I believe that students need insights about the future more than the past. Knowing about science and technology provides this insight because these are new topics/ subjects in our today’s world, about which increasing skills and knowledge helps us to deal effectively with this new world. Since advances in technology or multitask multidisciplinary science are not the subjects that we can find information about in history, thus learning about history may not be useful / does not seem useful. For instance, working with computers, which is a fundamental part of every office nowadays, is really mentally intellectually demanding and cannot be found anything when learning about in history. Therefore, if students are not be equipped with modern knowledge or skills, they will not be able to be successful after school and in the future. In my opinion, the idea of this group is more sensible and I agree with them. To sum up, there are two groups of people who argue about the important school subjects. Although one group thinks that history should be the top priority in schools since it has many lessons to teach, another group including me is against them and consider science and technology more important because our modern world is built based on these subjects.