In many countries, smoking is now illegal in public places. Many people believe that such a ban is justified. Do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, in the majority of nations, smoking has been banned in public places such as parks, gardens, hospitals and restaurants. And it has a strong backbone by the law. In this essay, I totally agree with this perspective because it reduces the harmful effects of passive smoking and encourages people who are addicted to smoking to quit. On the one hand, the reason that it the illegal to smoke in open places is because cigarette smoke can lead people to develop diseases related to second-hand smoke. Passive smoking is something that non-smokers cannot avoid when they are in front of a smoker. Thus, inhaled smoke can cause innocent people who do not smoke suffering from respiratory diseases such as lung cancer and asthma. For example, a decade ago England citizens are suffered from lung cancer problems but the majority of patients were non-smokers. Therefore, the UK government enforced the strong law of smoking cigarettes. Consequently, there was a significant decline in the above diseases leading many countries to adopt similar measures. On the other hand, prohibiting smoking in public areas can cause people who are addicted to smoke to give up smoking. Because, when smoking becomes illegal, smokers will encounter discrimination such as criticism or look down upon by other citizens, so this is an excellent motivation to quit. For instance, if they had social pressure about smoking they were given more encouragement to be ex-smokers since they can not tolerate the pressure from the public. Eventually, they can give up the habit and attain a healthier body. In conclusion, this essay believes that banning smoke in public is a rational way to prevent the non smokers inhale accidentally and can favourably avoid smoke in open places. And also can encourage the smoker away from cigarettes.