Some people believe that it is the responsibility of individuals to take care of their own health and diet. Others however believe that governments should make sure that their citizens have a healthy diet. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Many are of the opinion that people should take charge of their own eating habits, however, some entirely disagree, believing that this is government who is resposible for maintaining healthy diets among citizens. As far as I am concerned I believe that individuals themselves play a vitar role in that case. This essay will discuss both viewpoints along with supporting examples. On one hand, authorities have a power to establish general norms regarding food, which eventually determine one's diet and well-being of citizens. In other words, whether a certain product is allowed in a country is clearly dictated by a law, and this undoubtedly shape one's diet to a significant extent. For example, Coca Cola is strictly forbidden in Spain, because it had negatively impacted health conditions of residents. As a consequence of this rule, Spanish people are now considered the healthiest nation in the world, since their health statistics has increased considerably only by this one government decision. On the other hand, at the end of the day those are individuals who decide what to consume or not, regardelss any dieting advice. This is because under no circumstances does anybody else know after eating what we feel our best than we do. For instance, even though tomatoes are considered nutritious, never have I felt good after eating them. Therefore, it is clear that despite the fact that there might be some specific rules about healthy eating habits, an individual is the most aware of what serves them. To conclude, the debate on whether individuals or authorities should be responsible for their diets is multifaceted. Although the governments are capable of establishing specific rules regarding local food, which significantly contributes to eating habits among a country, I maintain that those are citizens who knows the best of their preferences and needs.