ome people believe government should spend money on building train and subway lines to reduce traffic congestion. Others think that building more and wider roads is the better way to reduce traffic congestion. Discuss both views and give your opinion

The high volume of traffic is a huge problem for many big cities. Therefore, there is a widely held view among a number of people that governmental bodies should pour money in building such public transport systems as train and subway lines. Others, however, argue that road expansion is the more proper way. To my mind, though widening streets benefits us, this can not alleviate traffic congestion. It is not by chance that developing public vehicles is considered one of the common approaches to reduce traffic jams. To day, people have indeed used too many private vehicles whose disadvantages can be listed. The long line of cars at peak hours is a typical example, which may lead to lengthy delays. This can also cause other serious consequences such as traffic accidents. Accordingly, it is widely believed that building underground tunnels can solve heavy traffic jams due to empty spaces beneath the ground. However, according to others, road extension is a better alternative because this solution does not demand more efforts. Also, extending road does not seem as costly as developing underground transport systems. Another reason for this is that bigger roads will create more spaces for vehicle owners, helping them to circulate easily during peak hours. By doing so, traffic congestion can be alleviated. In my opinion, road expansion is not a long-term measure because people tend to drive their vehicles regularly on newly widened streets. In other words, traffic jams might continue to occur. Therefore, government should take other solutions into consideration for safer transportation