Many graduates want to start their first job in a big corporation. Many others prefer to work for a small company first. What are the different advantages in each decision?

People immediately seek a job just after graduating from school. Many job applicants are hooked on working for big corporations due to the huge salaries and benefits they offer while some prefer to start their careers in small companies and work their way up the ladder. In my view, landing a job in a small company seems more plausible and advantageous for a number of reasons. To begin, working in small companies first can guarantee being hired immediately and gaining work experience as soon as possible. Small companies are usually composed of a single employer who prefers to fill the vacant post as soon as there is an available qualified applicant so that work can resume promptly. They prefer for work to resume immediately so that the business can continue earning profits. Due to being hired promptly, knowledge and experience are also acquired earlier thus helping the employee be able to grow. In contrast, competition is tougher in big corporations. While it is true that the salaries and benefits in big corporations are exponentially larger, employers therein are usually in groups of people holding high positions who strictly impose rigorous application processes in order to filter out the right candidate for the job. For instance, fresh graduates with no work experience can be faced with more competent and reliable candidates who have more work experience. Fresh graduates may be wasting resources and time trying to land a job in big companies due to the strict process and a lot of competitors for the job. In summary, big corporations usually go through a cutthroat hiring process, while small companies simply desire to fill the post so the business can start functioning quickly. Careerwise, it is more practical to start growing with small companies first before landing a job in a huge corporation.