ome people think that the main factors influencing a child’s development these days are things such as television, friends, and music. Others believe that the family still remains more important. Discuss both opinions and give your opinion

There has been a debate on influences of child development, some people are of the idea that it mostly influenced by television, music and friends. Others still believe that family is the most influential. This essay will look at both these opinions and give a final verdict at the end. Family is considered to have the greatest impact in a child's development. Firstly because there are the first guardians from birth upto pre-school age all the social and developmental behaviours are taught and learnt in this period. Additionally parents, guardians of siblings spend the majority of time with a toddler as their grow older. According to data from a scientific research at Yale university, a child's core behaviours and attitudes are learnt between the age of 0-4 years. Furthermore activities like eating, reading or going to the toilet are taught at home at a very young age, and these are major in regards of development. On the other hand television, music and friends influence a child at a later stage in life. Teenagers are influenced by their peers and entertainment, because there are now in complete control of what they consumer whereas as children the decision is made by family. Overally young children are influenced for a short period of time, for instance they can peer-pressured into smoking weed at an musical event but then totally leave the behaviour behind if they reach home. To conclude a child's development is impacted by more than one thing including family, media and peers. However in my opinion family is the major influencer of positive development in a child.